Somewhere Only We Know

Sitting in the sand around a fire pit, listening to the waves crash into the shore, laying in my boyfriend’s arms. This was the place I began with when the meditation first started. The scene switched and I was walking on the biking trail near my house. That’s where I found the tree. Our tree. The tree that we carved our initials into last June. I remember how we spotted it, and saw other names of past loves carved into it, so we decided to add ours as well. It is a very old, big tree. Some of the names carved had dates from the 80’s next to them. Names of people who have loved and lost, and names of those who actually found their true love at such a young age, and now our names are added to the list. I remembered how difficult it was to carve our names into it, and we searched for the sharpest rock we could find, yet it still took about 15 minutes to only carve a C and a K. As cliché as it is, the tree had a message. The message was to not give up, to not give into the world that was trying to tear us apart and break us into a million little pieces. The tree knows we are stronger than that, the tree understands that moving away has been hard on us, but the tree has so much hope for us and our future. Just like some of those names carved in the tree from long ago, the tree knows we can make it, that we can overcome any obstacle that life throws our way and we can fight it off with portal guns and batman capes and rawrlar all day long. The tree believes our love actually can last forever, and I do too.

Leave a comment